Ten Years And Counting

August this year mark a landmark for me. A decade in blogging. I posted my very first blog on August 16th 2004. I was married at the time, and my friend Andrew mentioned he had a blog, so I thought I would give it a go.

Over the next ten years, I changed from the original blog I had on Blogger, to AOL’s home pages, and then when I left them, I changed to my first WordPress blog six years ago, and then changed to this blog in 2010 which was called “Kattermonran’s Blog” and then changed to “Alastair’s Blog” before changing late 2012 / early 2013 to A Mixed Bag which it has been ever since. As a way of celebration, I will be changing my layout in the next week, but not the title. I am hoping to have photos at the top in a banner.

I want to thank the 1,800 people who now follow my blog, and of those I want to thank the 100 or so regular readers. I am grateful to each and every one of you for taking the time to come and visit me.

Ten years is a long time, but it also doesn’t seem that long.

My first post: August 16th 2004

First Blog

 Well, this is my first blog. I was introduced to this from Andrew. Andrew and Richard were down for this weekend as they normally do once a year. Andrew arrived at around 4:30 on Friday, and Richard arrived a couple of hours later. The weekend was the usual of shopping in Folkestone, watching films or something, talking about music, computer games and the like. 
 
Sunday was when Richard went back, although we thought he was going to have a problem as his car wouldn’t start at first. After a jump from Andrew though, he left at about 8:30 and arrived home about 9:45. Andrew left this morning (Monday), at about 10ish.
 
Well, that’s it for my first blog. I have a meeting this evening for the Father’s Club, which is a club for Fathers and Grandfathers only who have children or grandchildren with Autistic Spectrum Disorders.
Alley Katt
My first post on this incarnation was made February 19th 2010
This is my new blog page because of
a particular **** that has been
causing me problems.
The old page won’t be being updated anymore.
I look forward to the next ten years. Thank you all for joining me on this journey.

Sunday Photo Fiction: Sometimes No Answers Are The Best Answers

Every week a photo is used as a prompt for a story using around 200 words. If you want to have a go, head over to Sunday Photo Fiction and take a look at all the details. If you want to see what others have written, then head to the InLinkz link up page and click on any of the images there to read one of the stories.

My story is part of an ongoing story on an alien planet called Vakaria with the main character called Dan. They are a tripedal, three eyed, four armed race, and they live together in somewhat harmony although after the people from Earth invaded Vakaria more than five hundred years before, but some rebelled against the invasion. The invaders were referred to as Earthers, and the sympathizers were called Humans.

If you want to read the invasion story, then read Daniel’s Story.

If you want to read this story so far, then read Daniel’s Legacy.

73 08 August 17th 2014

Sometimes No Answers Are The Best Answers

Dan told Dahlia he intended to find out everything he could about Zoe Keegan, the serial killer, so they could prepare fully for her, and try to hide the fact they knew she still lived.

They started at the base Keegan commanded. After the Sergeant at the door led them in, they sat and Dan politely refused the drink offered by Captain Manatee, the new commander.

“I want to prepare a memorial for Zoe,” Dan lied. “She helped us find information on the killer. We hope to have him soon. Can you tell me how long she was in command please?” he asked.
“I’m not at liberty to say,” replied Manatee, turning away quickly.
“How about if she was married,” Dahlia asked. “Did she have a husband?”
“If she did, I certainly never saw her with anyone,” the captain responded.
“Was she ever cited or slated?” Dan asked, exasperated.
“I am going to pretend I did not hear that. Now this interview is over. I want to hear nothing more of a memorial or anything. We will deal with things our way.” He pressed a button on his desk. “Sergeant, these two are leaving. Please make sure they reach the gates without incident please.”

Also Ran To Week 34

I clicked on the wrong way to create the post, and I didn’t get the BEEP–BEEP–BOOP. Looks like they have decided the creation by the two-year-old wasn’t such a good idea after all.

It was difficult choosing a photo for this week, I really loved some of them, the one I chose, though, is one similar to one of these, but I am not saying which one. I did change several times as to which photo I would use.

These are the close runs. The flower mixture, the yellow seems to be the only flower with life left in it.