Friday Fictioneers: Ambush

Every Wednesday, Rochelle gives us another Friday Fictioneers, where using a photo prompt, we write flash fiction – a short story of around 100 words. If you want to have a go, scoot over to her blog and take a look at the full rules.

I have been writing an ongoing story which a lot of people know of. It is a two-sided story that I write with Jules Paige. Raynard and his cronies versus Saskia and her blood sacks. My side is from Raynard. If you want to read the entire story from the beginning, you can find it at the top of the page under FICTION –> Friday Fictioneers. Jules side of this weeks fiction can be found here (link to be added)


© Copyright – E.A. Wicklund

© Copyright – E.A. Wicklund

AMBUSH

Tess heard the commotion as she made her way to Raynard. Rounding the corner, she spotted two men attacking him with knives and stakes. She wanted to stand back and watch, but compulsion bade her aid him. Hearing Raynard’s suggestions in her mind, Tess ran forward and leapt thirty feet in the air, landing on one of the assailants with her extended nails slicing through his spinal cord.

Raynard’s left arm hung limply at his side with smoke erupting from his shoulder. It did not stop him finishing the other assailant though.  Tess pulled the stake out of his shoulder, her hands burning, as Raynard let out a fearsome howl.

ADDITIONAL:
As I didn’t have the words to describe everything, one of the dead bodies had an accurate sketch of Raynard with the name “Pale Gulliver” and the reason the stakes burned and steamed, was because they had been soaked in Holy Water

 

A Photo A Day … October 02 2013

Sometimes when taking photographs, you do have to be in the exact right place at the exact right time. I had this today. I was on my home and wondering which way to go. I decided to walk the river way, to see if I could see the rats that a drunk told me ran around that area. He wasn’t completely drunk at the time when I spoke to him yesterday, and a rat did poke its head out but vanished again before I could raise my camera. So today I decided to see if I could see one. Then I saw something that I have never been able to photograph before on any camera I have owned in my life. So to me, this is a unique photo. It disappeared a moment after the first shot.

EDIT: I have been informed on Facebook that it is a Brown Trout

October 02 2013