FRIDAY FICTIONEERS: Rock of Ages

Every week, Rochelle shares a photo to be used as a prompt to write a short story. It must be 100 words or less, and the image must feature in some shape or form even if it is just a passing comment.

This week’s image comes from Roger Bultot. If you want to read what others have written, please click the InLinkz link below. If you read their stories, please leave a comment or a like to let them know you have been there and checked out their submission. I have based this one on my own experience as a kid watching them roll out Folkestone Rock.

© Roger Boltet

I stood looking in the window, my hands on the glass as the two people inside folded big rolls of candy over and over. They folded and rolled it, pulled it and wound it, made it longer and thinner. They moved so fast, that my eyes darted from one to the other as I watched in awe.

The red folded into the white candy making more sense the smaller it became. From a foot wide to a couple of inches. That’s when there was a tap on my shoulder and the owner gave me my own stick of Brighton Rock.

Other Stories

17 thoughts on “FRIDAY FICTIONEERS: Rock of Ages

    • It is so fascinating. That window you see there, in the bottom picture, I have stood there watching them making the rock. They didn’t give us the free sticks, but it was great watching them do it.

  1. Amazing.I’d be staring in awe though the window too. Thanks for the video. Fascinating. I’m impressed by how long the brothers and their father worked at their jobs making the Brighton Rock.

Do you want to share your thoughts?