A Photo A Day … October 21 2013

After leaving my sister today, I walked past the river as usual. The ducks were there as usual. Playing, washing, drinking, flapping. They are always gorgeous, and if I could, then all of my photos would be of them.

Flowers as well. Trees at this time of the year have stunning colours of yellows, browns and reds. It’s Autumn (Fall) so I was surprised to find this today.

October 21 2013

Mactus – A Review

In June, I reviewed the book Charmeine by author and blogger Emily Guido. Charmeine is the first part of a Mactustrilogy, with Mactus being the second and Accendo is the final part of this particular series. There are more books coming, and I am looking forward to them. This review is for the second book, Mactus. You can find the Charmeine review here.

MACTUS

As Charmeine and Tabbruis unite to proclaim their love for one another it becomes apparent a dark task has presented itself for the ill-fated lovers to overcome. Even with the beautiful union between Tabbruis and Charmeine, destiny will surely reveal itself.

Being the Queen of Light, Charmeine is fated to bring light and love into the world, but yet her personal life can in no way interfere with her task. Devoted to Tabbruis and her son, Shane, it is all she can do to focus.

As the rule of engagement commences, she must first step up to the plate and bring forth a change to an endless feud which has already been acclaimed centuries into existence.

As King of Darkness, Tabbruis has been placed in his position for a purpose. His love for Charmeine has only brought peace and clarity into existence for him. With his family now back together, he must stand against his own kind, not only to protect what is right but also to defend the world from the impending darkness.

Family bonds only strengthen the ties. Shane introduces his proclaimed love into the picture and in a jaw dropping course of events, love is tested and the family is torn apart. They say that love can span the planes of existence, but can this family hold tight until the end and keep it together just long enough to face forces of darkness that is so hell bent on destroying the world?

Carly Ann Wallace
Acclaimed Author of “Southern Summer” and “Concrete Angel”

‗‗‗‗‗‗‗‗‗‗‗‗‗‗‗‗‗‗‗‗‗‗‗‗‗‗‗‗‗‗

The author of Mactus gave me the book free so I could give an honest review. As Emily gave me a signed first edition, I did not want to ruin the book, so I also downloaded the latest version to my kindle. I did enjoy the book, and I feel that Emily is a very good author. I am looking forward to reading the remainder of the series.

Mactus starts immediately where Charmeine, the first book in the Light-Bearer series, left off so there is no loss of weeks or days. Charmeine has discovered who she is and what she is. New characters arrive to help explain what Light-Bearers and Blood-Hunters are. The book brings the relationship between Charmeine, Tabbruis and Shane to light. In addition, how the new characters – Dmitri, Thomas, Neal and Sandra come into play. This is where I feel that the book went a little over the top. When a character finds out what they are, then they immediately know how to use the abilities and everything that goes with it. I cannot go into too many details, as I do not want to spoil the plot. This area is my only gripe with the story.

Emily writes in her particular way again with her descriptions that say that she is an author of unique style. I would suggest picking up all three books in the series and read them, as it is a definite kicker of a series. I am really looking forward Accendo – the third book – as this ends at the perfect place so the third book will have a straight run. Thoroughly enjoyable.

Charmeine, Mactus and Accendo originally had been a single book, but splitting them into three made for easier reading.

Four Stars

You can purchase the books:

Here – UK

Here – US